About us – Focus – Atmosphères
Ólafur Arnalds

Ólafur Arnalds © Maximilian Koenig

Martin Kohlstedt

Martin Kohlstedt © Peter Runkewitz

Lukas Lauermann

Lukas Lauermann © Julia Haimburger (Ausschnitt)

Martin Ptak

Martin Ptak © Severin Koller (Ausschnitt)

Joep Beving

Joep Beving © Rahi Rezvani


Over the last few years, a new musical movement has developed internationally, sometimes referred to as New Classics, which could already be experienced at the Wiener Konzerthaus with various artists. From the new season on, it will gain even more place. Performers like Ólafur Arnalds or Martin Kohlstedt combine classical compositional patterns with modern ways of thinking and production. Classical instruments, mostly the piano, are extended by electronic components, the sound is the focus, the space is included: In the future, we will summarize this musical style under the term »Atmosphères«. In 2020/21, in addition to the musicians already mentioned, Lukas Lauermann, Pascal Schumacher, Joep Beving and Martin Ptak will be coming to the Wiener Konzerthaus.