Monday MON 1 January 0001
Monday MON 1 January 0001
Thursday THU 16 December 2021


Beatrice Rana

Beatrice Rana © Parlophone Records Ltd

Wiener Symphoniker / Rana / Orozco-Estrada ABGESAGT

Friday 26 November 2021
Großer Saal



Wiener Symphoniker, Orchester

Beatrice Rana, Klavier

Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Dirigent


Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky

Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 1 b-moll op. 23


Dmitri Schostakowitsch

Symphonie Nr. 5 d-moll op. 47


Die Veranstaltung muss aufgrund der von der österreichischen Bundesregierung beschlossenen Covid-19-Maßnahmen abgesagt werden. Die Rückabwicklung der erfolgten Kartenkäufe wird aktuell durchgeführt. Alle Kundinnen und Kunden werden in Kürze schriftlich informiert.
Dieses Konzert wird im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen der Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft und den Wiener Symphonikern veranstaltet. Weitere Informationen zur Datenverarbeitung bei Kooperationsveranstaltungen, Speicherdauer und Ihren Rechten finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Subscription series Teodor Currentzis
Orchester international
Festkonzerte der Wiener Symphoniker
Wiener Symphoniker
Matineen des Wiener KammerOrchesters
RSO Wien
Symphonie Classique A
Symphonie Classique B
Matineen der Wiener Symphoniker
Prime Time
Diners Club


Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Seductive power & transcendent lightness

Tchaikovsky's First Piano Concerto fascinates Beatrice Rana. But the young pianist, to whom The Times attests »a kind of Orphic seductiveness, a transcendent lightness of touch,« admits that it is at the same time a great challenge to give every aspect of this music the dignity it deserves: »It is always difficult to present a concerto like Tchaikovsky's, because everyone has it in their ears and there are so many traditions of interpreting it. At the same time, I find it rewarding to play this concerto because it is famous for its melodies, they are just wonderful, the most beautiful Russian melodies, Tchaikovsky was a great melodist. Off the top of that, it's also a revolutionary concerto, because for the first time we have a solo piano playing against the orchestra sometimes. Then there's the great drama in the first movement, the second is reminiscent of ballet music, and the third movement goes to everyone's heart because the music comes from Ukrainian folk music.«

Contrast this with Andrés Orozco-Estrada's performance with the Vienna Symphony of Dimitri Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony, written in 1937 under Stalin's totalitarianism. These conditions explain Shostakovich's statement that his Fifth was »a Soviet artist's creative response to just criticism.«


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

The Ticket- & Service-Center will be closed to customer traffic from Monday 22.11.2021 for the duration of the lockdown.

Telephone hours: Monday to Friday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Opening and telephone hours
September to June

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm
Sundays and public holidays
24th December and Good Friday
3rd and 4th January
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

July and August

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm
Saturday, Sundays and public holidays
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

Evening box office

1 hour prior to performances
Only ticket purchases and collections for the events of the respective day or evening can be made.

The Wiener Konzerthaus would like to thank all its sponsors and cooperation partners.