Teodor Currentzis

Teodor Currentzis © Nadya Rosenbaum

Utopia Kammermusikensemble

Saturday 8 October 2022


Alexey Retinsky

Rex tremendae

Iannis Xenakis

Okho (1989)

Pascal Dusapin

Quatuor VI Hinterland. Hapax für Streichquartett und Orchester (2009)

Maurice Ravel

Introduction et Allegro für Flöte, Klarinette, Harfe und Streichquartett (1905)

Trois poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé (1913)

Igor Strawinski

Septett für Klarinette, Horn, Fagott, Klavier, Violine, Viola und Violoncello (1953)

Oktett für Blasinstrumente (1922–1923)

Presented by Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft

Fullness of sound from the 20th and 21st centuries

A squad of virtuoso soloists from Teodor Currentzis' new orchestra project Utopia can be experienced in the Mozart Hall: The Utopia Chamber Music Ensemble interprets compositions from recent music history. In doing so, it creates a sound that sometimes seems orchestral in a chamber music setting. Impressionist works such as Ravel's »Trois poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé«, compositions from Stravinsky's neoclassical and later, serially influenced creative phase as well as Xenakis' »Okho« from 1989 are performed. The ensemble takes a look into the 21st century with works by contemporaries Pascal Dusapin and Alexey Retinsky.

Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstrasse 20
A-1030 Wien

Telephone +43 1 242 002
Fax: +43 1 24200-110

Opening and telephone hours
September to June

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 6.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

July and August

Monday to Friday 10.00 am to 2.00 pm

September to June: Sundays and public holidays | 8th September | 24th December | Good Friday
July and August: Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays
Please purchase your tickets on these days online.

Evening box office

1 hour prior to performances
Only ticket purchases and collections for the events of the respective day or evening can be made.

The Wiener Konzerthaus would like to thank all its sponsors and cooperation partners.